Insurgent

I watched Insurgent last night and I have to say, I was a disappointed.

Let’s first establish that the actual movie is really good. It was very action packed, the cinematography was awesome, and I watched it in IMAX which made the experience so much better. 🙂

I realized after watching it, that it deviated so much from the book. 😦 The book was very character driven, and the movie focused mainly on Tris. It felt like Four was even out of the picture. When the book focused mainly on establishing character, their emotions, their background, etc. 

Where’s Edgar? Cara? Zeke? Hector? 

Tori did not even play a major role. When in the book, she did a lot. Even Marcus and Johanna were just passersby.

It just disappoints me. I know you can’t fit an entire book in 2hrs. But at least they should have included major characters and plot points. 

80% of the book was not in that movie.

However, I would have to commend Shailene Woodley. She was spot on in portraying Tris. It was exactly how I imagined she would be. 

Leave a Reply

